Networked Learning Project: Finished Product

Over the past few weeks in CEP 810, we had the task of learning how to perform a task using only YouTube videos as well as an online help forum. The intention was to get us to recognize the value of networked, online learning. For this project, I chose to learn how to tie the traditional Windsor necktie to help my husband achieve a more professional, clean look when going to places such as interviews, church, or various formal events.

Throughout the weeks, I only used the sources stated below to learn how to tie the Windsor. My husband allowed me to fully learn on my own without giving me any  guidance. After a few weeks of on and off practice, I was finally ready to make and publish a video on YouTube. In the video, I show and verbally describe how to tie the perfect Windsor necktie. Although the video turned out to be short, I feel it shows evidence of my learning as well as an easy, step-by-step procedure that anyone can follow.

Learning in this manner turned out to be quite successful. I feel that since I am a visual learner, the YouTube video and diagram posted on the help forum was absolutely perfect. Despite the fact that I did have to look at the diagram multiple times and rewind the video at least a dozen times, the steps eventually stuck with me, allowing learning to take place. I did notice, however, that I preferred the YouTube video over the help forum as it offered more clarification on the steps overall.

In the past, I’ve used YouTube videos to help me learn new things such as with cooking new recipes. The visual that YouTube offers is very beneficial since some of terminology used in a written recipe can be somewhat confusing. For example, when cooking a balsamic lamb chop sauce and the recipe calls for you to stir on high heat until the sauce has reduced by half, it might be a little confusing to know what exactly “half” should look like. In the same way, if you simply read the directions on how to tie a necktie such as, “bring the wide end through the loop”, you might not know which way it goes through the loop. For this reason, having verbal directions combined with a visual demonstration is an awesome tool for learning! I will definitely consider using YouTube videos to learn other things needed in my life.

As far as the help forum that I used, I thought it was only somewhat beneficial. Unfortunately, there weren’t that many people out there discussing how to tie a necktie. Most of the time, people were just sharing tips on the best fabrics for tying ties and pros and cons of different types of knots. In my opinion, I think the best thing it offered was people posting further resources such as the diagram posted below to help me learn how to tie the Windsor or other types of knots. Although I did study this diagram several times, it was not my main source of instruction. It was often confusing as I found myself staring at the screen and trying to not only learn the steps but also learn how to transform the still images into 3-dimensional action in my head.

Overall, this was a great experience and I am excited to continue to explore future networked learning opportunities! Check out my video below on how to tie the perfect Windsor knot!

Necktie Diagram

 

References:

N.p., n.d. Web. <http%3A%2F%2Freubenmiller.typepad.com%2F.a%2F6a00d8341ca70953ef0134886f8686970c-pi>.                          

How to Tie a Windsor Knot | Men’s Fashion. Howcast.com, 2013.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T0NPYZyI7V8. Web. 10 June 2016.

“MFA: Please Help Me Tie a Full Windsor • /r/malefashionadvice.” Reddit. N.p., n.d. Web. 10 June 2016. <https://www.reddit.com/r/malefashionadvice/comments/kl1hb/mfa_please_help_me_tie_a_full_windsor/&gt;.

Leave a comment